Schloss Fasanerie

Schloss Fasanerie, Hessen's most beautiful baroque palace, lies on a slight hill seven kilometres to the south of Fulda, surrounded by beautiful woods and fertile fields. Perfectly in balance with the surrounding terrain of gently rolling hills, the builder and his architects made skilful use of the picturesque location. The grounds, with their harmoniously arranged buildings and extensive parkland, provide contemporary visitors with a perfect impression of the kind of palace which, for centuries, the former ruling family of Hessen resided in during the summer months. They include such features as the magnificent wings of the palace but also simple estate outbuildings; whimsical pavilions in the park as well as horse stables.

Today, Schloss Fasanerie is owned by Kulturstiftung des Hauses Hessen, the House of Hesse Cultural Foundation. Parts of it are now a museum where exquisitely furnished rooms and selected works of art are on display. Every summer, the museum hosts a special exhibition of treasures usually not on public display in the "Badehaus", the palace's former bath house.

The Schloss Fasanerie restaurant offers hospitality in an atmospheric ambience. The café and its sunny patio offer plenty of space for dining and celebrating. One of the region's most beautiful beer gardens is located in the park, just behind the "Postenhaus".

These days, the horse stables, situated in one of the palace's historic outbuildings, and the surrounding paddocks are home to the Fulda Equestrian Club.

Das Schloss Fasanerie

Sieben Kilometer südlich von Fulda liegt auf einer leichten Anhöhe, umrahmt von herrlichen Waldungen und fruchtbaren Feldern, Hessens schönstes Barockschloss. Dem Terrain der sanft abfallenden Hügel harmonisch angepasst, wurde die reizvolle Lage vom Bauherrn und seinem Architekten mit viel Einfühlungsvermögen genutzt. Die Anlage vermittelt dem heutigen Besucher in einem gelungenem Zusammenspiel von Park, und Schlossgebäuden den Eindruck einer fürstlichen Sommerresidenz der vergangenen Jahrhunderte. Dazu gehören repräsentative Schlossflügel ebenso wie schlichte Wirtschaftsgebäude; verspielte Parkpavillons ebenso wie Pferdestallungen.

Schloss Fasanerie gehört heute der Kulturstiftung des Hauses Hessen, die im Inneren des Schlosses ein Museum betreibt, in dem prachtvoll eingerichtete Räume und erlesene Kunstwerke präsentiert werden. Jeden Sommer zeigt das Museum bei einer Sonderausstellung im ehemaligen „Badehaus“, eine Auswahl normalerweise verborgener Schätze der Kunstsammlung.

Zur Stärkung und zum Verweilen lädt die stimmungsvolle Gastronomie von Schloss Fasanerie ein. Das Café mit seiner Sonnenterrasse bietet Räume zum Speisen und Feiern. Hinter dem Postenhaus im Park lockt einer der schönsten Biergärten der Region. 

Im Pferdestall der historischen Wirtschaftsgebäude des Schlosses und auf den sie umgebenden Koppeln ist heute der Reitclub Fulda zu Hause.